## RSA (Pre-1994): President L. M. Mangope of Bophuthatswana / 5th Anniversary of Independence

RSA (Pre-1994): President L. M. Mangope of Bophuthatswana / 5th Anniversary of Independence



Form: Circular

By: Lourens de Lange / SA Mint

**Date: 1982** 

Ref: Laidlaw: 0797;

Variations: Size Metal Mass Value 38.3 mm Silver 35.1 gm \$25

Edge: Plain. SA Mint marks: "(springbok head) 925 I (for 1982) S.A.M".

Obverse: Bareheaded bust of Lucas Mangope in jacket and tie, half left. Signed: "LDL" below, right. Legend above:

"BOPHUTHATSWANA" and below between stops: "PRESIDENT L.M. MANGOPE".

**Reverse:** Coat of arms of Bophuthatswana with motto: "TSHWARAGANANG LO DIRE PULA E NE (If we stand together and wor we will be blessed with rain)". Legend above: "SEGOPOTSO SA KEMONOSI (fifth anniversary of independence)" and I

"1977 - 1982"

**Notes:** The Republic of Bophuthatswana was a black homeland established by the apartheid government of South Africa for the Tswana-speaking people in 1977. It first and only president was Lucas Mangope. With the end of apartheid in 1994, Bophuthatswana ceased to exist and once again became part of South Africa.