## RSA (Post-1994): Kruger National Park 110th Anniversary: Krugerrand Launch to Dignitaries

RSA (Post-1994): Kruger National Park 110th Anniversary: Krugerrand Launch to Dignitaries



Form: Circular

By: After Coert L. Steynberg / South African Mint

Date: 2008

Ref: Laidlaw: 0350c:

Variations: Size Metal Mass Value

32.4 mm Silver 15.1 gm \$140

**Edge:** Plain. Faintly stamped with the SA Mint hallmark. These are illegible.

Obverse: View of the Kruger Monument at the Kruger Gate to the Kruger National Park. Signed: "CLS" at the foot.

Reverse: A Kudu head, the emblem of the National Parks Board. Across above: "Ag 925" and below: "SOUTH AFRICAN / NATIONAL PARKS" and below that the emblem of the South African Mint. Legend above: "SOUTH AFRICAN MINT - KRUGERRA LAUNCH" and below: "31 MARCH 2008 -SKUKUZA - KRUGER NATIONAL PARK". The date is in error. It should have "31 MAY 2008".

**Notes:** This medal was presented to the dignitaries who had been invited to attend the launch of the 2008 Krugerrand held at S in the Kruger National Park on 31 May 2008. It comes encapsulated inside a red case from the SA Mint together with a numbered (this medal 0082) certificate stating a limited mintage of 110. A similar larger medal (Laidlaw 350b) was issue commemoration set with a Krugerrand.

The launch was part of the celebration of the 110th anniversary of the establishment of the Park. The Kruger Park was proclaimed in 1898 as the Sabie Game Reserve by the then president of the Transvaal Republic, Paul Kruger.

Coert L. Steynberg (1905-1982) was a renowned South African sculptor best known for his statue of Paul Kruger, found Kruger-gate, Kruger National Park. The representation of the statue on this medallion was also designed by him in 1976 medal commemorating the 50th anniversary of the South African National Parks Board (Laidlaw 0350a) and reproduced medal. His most famous coin design is the prancing springbok first produced for the silver 5 shilling piece in 1947 and subsequently on the gold Krugerrand.